Yeleverything

Return of the Gym Bunny

IMG_1319.jpg

I’m back at the gym and I am so so so happy!

I’d been having problems with my knees whilst training for the marathon and 5 weeks before I was due to run I found out that I had osteoarthritis. I can’t describe the frustration of having to withdraw my marathon place! Following my 6 weeks recovery I noticed that there was absolutely no improvement in my knees so I reluctantly froze my gym membership and committed myself to walking my dog instead.

Buuuuuut now I’m back and I went to the gym for the first time yesterday. Surprisingly my strength is still around the same, only 5kg – 10kg less than before and my flexibility is the same in my right leg but so much worse in my left. The real shock was my cardio – I used to do 20 minutes on the step master as a warm up but yesterday I could barely do 5! Fingers crossed a few spin classes will get me back into the swing of things. It is absolutely crazy how much I missed it but I’m viewing my absence as a good thing because now I am even more determined to get back into a healthy lifestyle.

If any of you have some gym tips or similar experiences please do leave them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

